De-Tech De-Tox

For my Communications class, our professor gave us the challenge of going 24 hours without modern technology. This includes cell phones, computers, digital media players, and television. Landline phones and analog radios are allowed. A lot of people were worried about this, because they’re so attached to these forms of communication. And, if I told you that I thought I wouldn’t have a problem doing this, I’d be lying to you. I’ve done similar forms of this assignment before, for various reasons. In high school, my junior English teacher gave us a writing assignment where we had to go one week without any form of social media. I didn’t have a problem with that. Then, although it may not count, in some people’s eyes, there have been many times where my internet connection has been out for days at a time, due to our terrible service provider. So, I’ve got experience in the De-Tech De-Tox. But, this time was a little different. Since I’ve been in college, I’ve been very busy, with work, school, and other activities, such as booking more live shows, and trying to get my podcast going again. That requires a lot of emails, phone calls, and computer work. So, needless to say, I was a bit concerned for a little bit that everything might come crashing down. Sounds ridiculous, right? Well, I didn’t realize it at first. So, Saturday, I decided to take the challenge. At 2:30pm, I had to go to work, and didn’t get home until around 9pm. So, that knocked out most of the day, and made it a little easier. Usually, I come home and get on Facebook, and share a bunch of funny pictures, and post thoughts of mine that I feel are necessary for survival, for some odd reason. But, I couldn’t do that this time. So, I played my guitar for a little while, then I went to bed. I slept in a little on Sunday. When my eyes finally popped open around 10am, I felt like I had accomplished a great deal. This was the most alarming part. I didn’t really have anything challenging me. I was forced to be away from technology for most of Saturday night, and I slept in so much on Sunday, to the point where I only had about 5 hours left, that there really was no chance for me to be challenged. As our professor predicted, as soon as I was able to, I turned my phone back on and got on Facebook, and that’s when I had my moment of realization. Would you believe me if I told you nobody missed me? Nobody even noticed I was gone. My phone didn’t blow up with phone calls of promising business opportunities, life-long dreams coming true, or pure luck waiting for my call back. My email wasn’t full of new music, waiting to be reviewed by me, or P.R. agents scheduling me for interviews with up and coming bands. None of those people really even work weekends, so I don’t know what I expected. That’s when I realized that I, like many others, have a problem with technology, and it’s not a withdrawal problem. The problem is, I, like many others, think I’m way more important than I really am. I was worried that everyone would want to talk to me, but wouldn’t be able to get ahold of me. When that wasn’t the case, it put me in my place, and that was a good lesson. Hopefully everyone else learned the same lesson I did. If we, as a society, realize our true importance, instead of living with our land of make-believe importance, maybe there wouldn’t be such a problem with technology-dependency. Maybe there wouldn’t be so many bathroom mirror selfies, accompanied by song lyrics dedicated to someone they love, who doesn’t even glance at their page to notice lovey-dovey lyrics with hearts and smiley faces. I’m glad I did this. Although it wasn’t my first time doing this, it was the first time everything was put in perspective for me, and that’s good enough for me.

Leave a Reply

