The Grammy’s

A couple of weeks ago, it was that time of the year, my friends! Yes, it was time for the Grammy Awards! I didn’t even watch. I waited until it was over, then I went online and watched some highlights. First of all, let me address the one thing people kept bringing up to me, knowing my taste in music: Willie Nelson, Kris Kristofferson, and Merle Haggard’s performance. The people complaining about it were obviously not familiar with these guys, to begin with, so I wasn’t really bothered. Kris Kristofferson has NEVER been known as a great singer. He’s a great songwriter! He sang on all of his records, a few movies, and the Highwaymen albums, but he’s definitely not a singer. Willie doesn’t play the song “Highwaymen” very often in his shows, if ever. I had been told that there were sound problems on the stage, which doesn’t surprise me. From what I saw of The Grammy’s, it seemed to me they were more concerned about the “show” aspect than the music. Some people said Blake Shelton saved that segment, and nothing could be farther from the truth. Willie and Kris don’t play “Okie From Muskogee.” Merle doesn’t play “Highwayman” and “Mama, Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys.” So, how are they expected to be perfect with just one rehearsal opportunity? On another note, it was nice to see Taylor Swift leave empty-handed. Maybe the rest of the country is catching on that I’m right! Really, though, the only part of the Grammy’s I cared about was the part before they went on television. I don’t know if they still stream it online, or not, but it’s the awards that they don’t think are worthy of being on television, a.k.a. all the real talent. Guy Clark won his first Grammy for “My Favorite Picture of You”, which is one of the best albums I’ve ever heard! That whole segment, before they go on TV, is where you see the folk heroes, the blues legends, the country icons, the metal pioneers, all of which are better than what they showed on TV. I’m surprised Willie, Kris, and Merle weren’t forced to perform on the untelevised portion, as well. In short, The Grammys don’t know what they’re doing.

Willie, Kris, Merle, and the untalented Blake Shelton on The Grammy’s: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SspAWnLvUFc

A track from Guy Clark’s “My Favorite Picture of You”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6wjDbPvEFKM
251643_2149748421857_4435451_n

Leave a Reply

