Carrying Legacies

It’s not very often that you see it, but it’s happening more and more. The children of famous musicians are carrying on their parents’ legacies, while at the same time, trying to make a name for themselves in the music industry, and the world. The first case I ever saw of this was Shooter Jennings. I saw him open for Charlie Daniels and .38 Special, as a part of Volunteer Jam 2008. I had heard his name before, and recall seeing him shortly before the concert on David Letterman, but I wasn’t familiar with his music. Obviously, I was more than familiar with his father, Waylon Jennings’s music. Surprisingly, many of the people at the show were there because Shooter was there. Some people I talked to were fans of Charlie and .38, but they all loved Shooter so much that they had to go when they found out he was coming! In the parking lot, I talked to a couple who said they had been following Shooter on tour, and this was their 12th show of the year. Once he hit the stage, I knew why. He was his own person. He played music that HE wanted to play. It was Rock and Country. He did play one of his dad’s songs, Beale of The Ball. I felt ashamed of myself. Before he even played a note, I stood out there, hoping he would play a bunch of Waylon’s tunes. I would’ve missed out on his own music, which was great! After research, I found out that Hank Williams Jr. started out the same way. People wanted him to be just like Hank Sr., but he refused. Now he’s one of the biggest stars in Country music. A.J. Croce started out being afraid of playing his Dad’s music, then became confident enough in his ability to play it. The standards that society puts on the children of famous musicians make it nearly impossible to be comfortable or to survive in the music industry. If we would embrace them for their own music, like we did for their parents, we would be in for a treat!

Shooter Jennings website: http://www.shooterjennings.com
A.J. Croce interview: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=scToTWBKnM0251643_2149748421857_4435451_n

Leave a Reply

