Rap Music

Yup. You read that right. The Hillbilly Heavy Metal Honky Tonk Bluesy Rock N’ Roller is about to talk about Rap music. That’s almost an irony. A contradiction. Some weird trick from the English language that’s easily and commonly misused, as I probably have here. But, anyway, let’s get right down to it. Yeah, even though it’s way different from what I play, I do listen to Rap music, but really, just the Old School Rap. To me, that’s the best, heaviest stuff! Granted, I’m not very knowledgeable in modern rap. Rappers like Lil’ Wayne and Jay Z, although he’s not exactly new, are dominating the modern rap scene. Although I have heard Lil’ Wayne, and I do admit, he’s very lyrically creative, and I heard he adlibs his lyrics in the studio, which was even more impressive, but there’s nothing like the classic rap. Groups like Run DMC and Public Enemy are still #1, in my book, but after seeing Flava Flav on Celebrity Wife Swap, I lost a little respect for him. The fact that Run DMC can come back and play to huge crowds now shows how much of a long lasting impression was made by rap! Many musicians try to discredit rap, by saying it’s not music. Granted, there’s rarely singing or much instrumentation in it, but it’s still rhythmical and rhyming, so it counts, in my book.

Run DMC music video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l-O5IHVhWj0
Run DMC live from last year: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7hz0hvQLhKA
DSCN1669

Leave a Reply

